Netease Sports reported on October 5:
In the emperor
In a 1-1 stalemate, Messi dribbled into the penalty area in the 92nd minute. Messi smashed to the left to complete the breakthrough, Diego Carlos stretched his leg to try to intercept, but he stepped on the back of the Argentine. From the video, it is difficult to see whether Diego Carlos touched the ball first or played Messi first.
Messi fell to the ground, and the referee Manzano did not give any penalty for the first time. Manzano then communicated with the VAR referee through a headset. The VAR referee did not prompt him to award a penalty. Manzano then signaled the game to continue. As this suspected penalty was not whistled, Barcelona was finally drawn 1-1 by Sevilla.
This scene caused a lot of controversy after the game. Catalan media "World Sports Daily" clearly pointed out that Manzano missed a critical penalty.
The double standard of VAR was the focus of Barcelona's complaints last season. Barcelona believes that Barcelona and Real Madrid's opponents are often sentenced to the highest standard by VAR, while Real Madrid often escapes due punishment. In the critical period of last season's championship, Real Madrid won 1-0 consecutive penalties sent by VAR, and the referee missed multiple fouls in the penalty area. Not long after the start of the season, VAR has adopted a double standard when dealing with Barcelona Real Madrid.